ECB boys do it again

ECB Blues continued their spectacular upsurge when they once again fought fire with fire and turned on the heat to mow down Lanka Lions by 44 runs on Tuesday in a typically workmanlike performance on Tuesday in the ongoing CSS Homeward Bound Trophy for the XVI Sharjah Ramadan Floodlit cricket tournament A Division, conducted by the Sharjah Cricket Council.

The event is co sponsored by Khaleej Times. AJ Sports International and Rainbow Stake House.

Buoyant by their stunning upset over strong Raha CC, ECB Blues once again demonstrated their fighting qualities and their new found never say die attitude to the hilt when they raised their bar to corner the Lions in to a mire.

In pursuit of a modest victory target of 146, Lanka Lions once again failed to come good and in a game where they were playing for pride rather than anything else, they profoundly followed their appalling pattern to be restricted to 101 for 8 wickets in 35 overs.

The Lions began the chase badly when Asim Saeed bowled a torrid opening spell to pick up two early wickets that had them in disarray and further troubles ensued when off-spinning wizard Mohd Tauqir (2 for 17) weaved his magic to tighten the noose.

Nadeeka tried to withstand the tidy bowling but tragic struck when he was run out for 20 while Indika slogged an unbeaten 17 but all that proved too inadequate as Lanka Lions hung their heads in shame, bowing out with a whimper Three losses out of three games.

Earlier, electing to bat first after winning the toss, ECB Blues struggled to find their feet after a bright start and meandered their way to be bowled out for a below par 145 in 35 overs.

Opener Asim Saeed led the batting with a breezy 31 while one-drop talented Rashid Khan came alive with a craftily compiled 38 but once they departed, the innings lost its momentum as well as wickets.

Manik bowled well and was the chief tormentor, capturing 4 wickets for 25 runs while Janaka (2 for 18) and Priyantha (2 for 23) lent excellent support.

Wednesday, November 12, 2003.
source : UAEcricket.com.

Print This Article | Email this Article

Subscribe Unsubscribe

Comments Send to a friend.